accredited Higher Learning CommissionAbout the Higher Learning Commission

The Higher Learning Commission (HLC) is an independent corporation and one of two commission members of the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools (NCA), which is one of six regional institutional accreditors in the United States. The Higher Learning Commission accredits degree-granting post-secondary educational institutions in the North Central region.

Accreditation is provided by both regional and national associations of schools and colleges. The regional associations operate independently, but cooperate extensively and acknowledge one another’s accreditation. Here are the six regional associations, each named after the region in which it operates:

  • Middle States
  • New England
  • North Central*
  • Northwest
  • Southern
  • Western

* Mid-America Christian University is accredited by the North Central Association.

Learn more about the Higher Learning Commission by visiting their website at:



University Accreditation
Additional Accreditations
About HLC